Success Despite Chronic Migraine

photo credit: Steve Corey via photopin cc

photo credit: Steve Corey via photopin cc

I know this should be a monthly post but my heart is bursting with joy. I successfully completed the first 6 days of the Blogilates beginner calendar. Today for me is day 7 – a rest day- and it’s killing me not to start day 8. I know with all certainty that if I hadn’t created the, “Get Fit Despite Chronic Migraine Challenge” (#GFDCM), I would’ve given up by now. It’s the obligation to you readers and those of you who’ve joined the challenge, Megan and Laura, that keeps me motivated.

Please note the challenge has not been easy for me. On days when I wake up with migraine symptoms greater than a 5, I rest and IF my symptoms become tolerable I do my workout. So far I haven’t had to miss a day (I don’t think lol – migraine brain). I did have two days that resulted in severe migraine symptoms following the exercise, but the severity lessened over a few hours rather than days (this is new). My view, my migraine won’t stop so why should I. Whether I workout out or not I’m going to experience discomfort (ranging from tolerable to excruciating).

I also want to mention that on days when the calendar calls for cardio to be done, I go to the Blogilates YouTube channel and substitute with another beginner floor exercise video. Why? Cardio (bouncing up and down), will definitely put me in bed for days with unbearable migraine symptoms (been there, done that, not going to repeat it).

Since week 1 went so well for me, I’ve added two more challenges for myself: Journey to Splits and the sleek arm challenge (below each challenge are instructions to ensure your safety while completing it).

Have you considered joining the #GFDCM Challenge? If not, why not? If yes, what’s holding you back?

– Skylar

N.B. Cassey Ho of Blogilates does not endorse me or this blog. I am just a fan of her Pop Pilates.

2 thoughts on “Success Despite Chronic Migraine

Leave a Reply

