How to Maintain Hope? – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 28

Today’s prompt: “Hope Begins In the Dark,” Interpret the Quote: Tell us what the quote on the image below means to you.

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 12.06.01 PM

 

What are your thoughts on this quote? Please let me know in the comment section below. Please don’t be afraid to disagree with me, but I do ask that you are tactful 🙂 .

I don’t agree with this quote. I don’t think hope begins in the dark, which I take to mean (and correct me if I’m wrong), trial some times… I believe hope needs to be cultivated before. Much like one prepares for a natural disaster like a hurricane, snow storm etc.

I believe we need to fortify ourselves, in whatever way we choose to personally, before the trouble starts. I also think we should have a help yourself plan of action.

How I prepare:
1. I’m a Bible reader, therefore I read and mediate on passages that give me hope, so that when I’m “in the dark”, I have something to drawn upon.
2. I read articles that teach you to cope with chronic illness, depression, anxiety etc. before I’m engulfed with negative emotions.
3. I have chosen songs that I find inspirational that I’ll play to motivate myself.
4. I promise myself to call a friend or family member that I feel comfortable talking to. I may or may not tell them that I’m down; just breaking my period of isolation is sometimes enough.
5. I write.
6. I get out of my surroundings – go to my parents home and lay in their bed instead.
7. This one I plan to implement: Ask those closest to me to check on me when they haven’t heard from me in a while; as there are times when I’m so down I don’t have the motivation to do anything.

What do you do? Do you have a plan of action? Are you now preparing for the next “dark day”? I am.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

One thought on “How to Maintain Hope? – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 28

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

