“You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up)” – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 27

“You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up)” Watch the Josh Grogan video below and listen to the lyrics. How does it make you feel? Which lyrics do you find especially inspiring?

This is a song for the dark days. The days when the depression, that accompanies migraine, is worse than all the other symptoms. The words “You are loved, Don’t give up” resonate within me. It’s a reminder that I AM LOVED, that if I’m gone it WILL matter. People WILL hurt because of my absence. This is important to know.

I’ve personally never considered suicide, but some of our migraine fighters have taken their lives. This disease takes so much away from you. It takes your life, your freedom, your self-esteem, your passion and so much more.

I often feel worthless because I’m very limited in what I can do. As a result, it makes my husband’s load so much heavier. In addition to that, my parents have to step in to assist a lot. I feel like my hubby and I should be helping them now.

Also from time to time, when I decline an invitation or I say I can’t do something because I don’t have enough “spoons” for that day, some people give me the, “Yeah right! You’re such a loser!” look. I know they’re ignorant, that they don’t know the full scope of this disease, but it still crushes me.”

What’s been your experience and how does this song make you feel? Please let me know in the comments below .

In the meantime, if you feel like giving up remember, “You Are Loved, Don’t Give Up.”

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

5 thoughts on ““You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up)” – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 27

  1. Hey, I´m sitting alone at home, had a migraine attack yesterday (I have aura migraines) so this is my second day inside the house. My daughter is at my parents-in-law, my husband is off to a wedding and staying the night at a hotel -a trip we were supposed to take together and that we had been looking forward to. I´ve been doing allright, trying not to feel sorry for myself, but now that it´s getting late, it´s hard to keep my spirits up. So it was very nice to hear this song fill the living room 🙂 Thank you for sharing, it´s an excellent choice 🙂

    • Don’t you just hate that! Missing events I mean. I’m so sorry you have to be housebound; but glad you liked the song. That’s why I love participating in the Blog Challenge each year…I’m always inspired by what they ask us to write about.

      My husband is now at a friend’s kiddie party doing the face painting – he’s an artist. I was supposed to be his sidekick (I would’ve been using stencils); but of course I’m housebound too with a migraine :(. And my mother (I’m at my parents house), just said something so hurtful (not intentional of course).

      My hubby just called to check in and I told my mother how he mentioned that there was a long line. I asked if he had help and he said no. I mentioned to my mother that I felt bad that he didn’t have help. She said, “It’s okay, he’s learning to cope without you.” That really stabbed like a knife. I don’t know why. I know it’s true but I guess it made it sound like he’s learning to live without me. As if I’m dead. Anyhoo, I’ll get over it.

      Thanks so much for checking out my blog and commenting. I hope you feel better soon.

      – Skylar

      P.S. Another song I love is “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten. I heard it on another Migraineur’s blog. Check it out you might enjoy that too.

      • Ouch, yeah, that IS a hurtful remark! I suppose she didn´t realize how it would come across, but of course we don´t want to hear how the people we love are learning to cope without us. That shakes the whole core of our relationship. I´m sorry you had to stay in too… It sucks so much, doesn´t it, missing out on all the fun… And with every plan you make, every party, every wedding or even just a lunch with friends, having to take into account that you might not be able to join…

  2. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

