My Hope Is A Basic Human Right…Freedom – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 25

Today’s prompt: “YOUR Hope,” What do you hope for most in your journey with Headaches or Migraines? Please share with us about what you hope for and why.

photo credit: D.Fletcher via photopin cc

photo credit: D.Fletcher via photopin cc

Migraine has taken away from me a basic human right, freedom. I no longer have control over my body and therefore no control over my life.

As a result, my hope is to find a good headache neurologist that will help me to gain control. I desperately desire to return to having episodic migraines. I can’t remember the last time, in more than 13 years, that I went a day without a headache or a week without a migraine (migraine is not just a headache). I want days, weeks, and months without a headache much less a migraine; and when I get either one, I want it to respond to the meds I’m given so that I’m down no more than 3 days. As I said in a recent post, rather than spending 80% of my life in bed, in a dark room, nursing a migraine, I want to spend 80-90% living life outside in the fresh air and sunshine.

I want to ride horses again, go swimming when I want, assist others, work, workout, clean my house and not squash the desire of having a baby because I couldn’t imagine carrying for a child while caring for myself.

I want freedom. I want control. I want a life without migraines.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

 

One thought on “My Hope Is A Basic Human Right…Freedom – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 25

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

