“…Fighting a Hard Battle” – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 24

Today’s prompt: “Fighter” Have your Migraines or Headaches made you a fighter?: Watch the Christina Aguilera video below and listen to the song lyrics. How have your Migraines or Headaches made you a fighter?

My chronic migraines have made me a more empathic person. They’ve emphasized this point, “You really don’t know what people are going through.” I went to a bridal shower Saturday past. The host knows that I’m in pain all the time. She was happy I could make it, but would’ve understood if I couldn’t. When I arrived, she walked over to me and hugged me and said, “You look lovely. No one would ever know you’re in pain….”

On another occasion, I was late for an event. Most early birds are annoyed by late comers. That morning I woke up with a #10 migraine: excruciating, pounding headache; light and sound sensitive; nauseated; dizzy and emotional. My mother insisted that I try to eat something. The moment I smelt the food, I vomited all over both of us (gross I know – she was handing it to me). Vomiting however, took the edge off of the pain. We cleaned ourselves up and off we went.

Therefore, when I interact with people and they seem a bit off, not their usual self, perhaps even offensive in their behavior, before thinking negatively of them, I wonder what’s going on with them? I hope they’re okay? When I’m at a congregation meeting, seminar etc. and someone comes late or sleeps through the program I’m not annoyed or disgusted…

As Plato wisely said, “Always be kind, for everyone is fighting a hard battle.”

– Skylar

P.S. My migraines make me weak. My relationship with my heavenly father, loved ones, other chronic migraine fighters and the yearly blog challenge give me the strength to cope, to fight.

Featured image: photo credit: r.nial.bradshaw via photopin cc

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

One thought on ““…Fighting a Hard Battle” – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 24

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

