Isolation – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 22

June 22nd prompt: “The Power of Friendship” From the image below, please tell us how the power of friendship helps you maintain hope.

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 5.33.19 PM

I’ve been having a hard time writing this. I guess it’s because I kinda feel very isolated. My best friend lives far away. We chat on Skype when she’s available and I’m not in intense pain or depressed. Those conversations brighten my day but the joy kinda dies when the call ends. Another good friend moved away and she’s super busy with her new life. We talk from time to time. Another of my friends has a heavy plate. Her father recently died of Lou Gehrig’s Disease (ALS), she has a sister, who she helps out with, who has a severe form of Schizophrenia in addition to the regular trials of life. So again we chat from time to time. Then I have another “bestie”, who’s also a relative. She has Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Migraines and the list goes on. As a result, we talk mostly on the phone, but we haven’t been talking all that much lately.  Even still, when I have a “good” day and want to go for a drive, out to lunch, to the beach etc. there’s no one to call on.

I’ve been reaching out to new people but it’s kinda hard to make and keep friends when you’re chronically ill. When friends see that you call when you have something you want to do with them (i.e. you’re having a “good” day), but rarely go when they call (cause physically you can’t), they shrink away.

“Anyhoo” I think you get the point. I’m gonna stop here cause this is depressing me.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

 

 

 

One thought on “Isolation – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 22

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

