Our Migraine Community – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 20

Today’s prompt: Headache or Migraine Role Model: Who do you know who has any form of headache or migraine whom you look to as a role model for inspiring hope and never giving up? How do they inspire you?

photo credit: 2010.06.09 via photopin (license)

photo credit: 2010.06.09 via photopin (license)

I honestly don’t have just one role model. I am a part of a wonderful migraine community made up of strong, spoonie, fighters. Each year I look forward to their posts in honor of Migraine Awareness Month – they are always inspiring.

Throughout the rest of the year, they continue to share their stories: setbacks and triumphs. They talk about different treatments, tests, meds etc. They give me a place in a world where I am painfully different ;). And occasionally someone becomes migraine free for a day, two, then weeks, months and then years. When that happens, that gives me a cause for hope. I feel if they did it so can I.

Without this community, I wouldn’t be so focused on educating myself about this horrendous disease that we all have to cope with. They’ve taught me that I need to be as up-to-date as the neurologists I see. In addition to that, I learned the importance of finding a Headache Neurologist. I never even knew neurologists specialized until I began blogging and tweeting.

So thank you migraine community! I appreciate you and enjoy fighting alongside you.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

 

One thought on “Our Migraine Community – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 20

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

