Conveyor Belt Migraineur – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 18

June 18th prompt: Hope from Our Doctors: Share what your doctor has said to you that gives you hope.

Unfortunately I cannot say I’ve come across any doctor YET that has given me any hope. In fact, it’s been just the opposite. I’ve always felt as if I were just another migraine patient on a conveyor belt. You know the factory scene, each product on the belt is treated exactly the same way and if there are any defects they’re discarded. Well I’m the “defective” migraineur that doesn’t respond to their text book treatment…

On the other hand, in defense of the neurologists that I’ve seen, there was a point that my husband and I didn’t realize that I have chronic migraine. We went to doctors telling them, we don’t want any medication. We want you to run tests and figure out why my headaches literally never stop. The minute they ignored that request and started writing a prescription we were like, “NEXT!” We were just tired of the conveyor belt. We were tired of:

“Oh you have migraine here’s a list of foods to avoid.”

“Yeah we did that for a year with no success.”

“Okay we need you to do that again but I’ll also prescribe…”

“Oh I’ve taken that. And that. And that. Yes I’m sure I’ve also used that.”

“Wow! Well this one is new on the market, let’s start you on this and I’ll see you in …weeks to see how you’ve responded.”

Perhaps if we’d stuck with one of them and tried all the meds. I would’ve had them under control.

Hmm…now that I think about it, there was one neurologist that gave us a glimmer of hope. We saw her a few years back. She did a thorough exam, diagnostic tests and all, and after all the tests came back normal (as usual), she said (and I paraphrase), “All of your headaches are the result of migraine. Your migraine doesn’t stop. We must break the cycle.” For us that was an ahhh…haaa… moment; we finally felt there was progress. However, that neurologist lives in a different country and we just couldn’t afford to continue seeing her. On top of that, we can’t afford health insurance on just one salary so we just stopped going to neurologists and that’s where we are now.

Since starting to blog again I’ve realized that I’m way behind when it comes to understanding and treating my migraines. As I come across the blogs of other migraine fighters, I notice that they know what type of migraine they have; they know what categories to group their pills in and so much more. They’ve inspired me to come up with a migraine plan. I’m still mulling it over and I will share it with you very soon. If you have any tips to add to my growing plan, please post them in the comments below. I need help! 🙂

If you’re not participating in the blog challenge, but you’ve come across a doctor or doctors that gave you hope, please share your experience below.

– Skylar

 

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

 

2 thoughts on “Conveyor Belt Migraineur – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 18

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

  2. Pingback: “My-graine” Action Plan | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

