Blogging For Sanity and Solidarity – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 8

Today’s prompt: Pets for Comfort and Hope: If you have pets that help you keep hoping, tell us about them. If not, tell us about something else that helps you keep hoping.

photo credit: Blogging via photopin (license)

photo credit: Blogging via photopin (license)

I love to write. Writing gives me the opportunity to unburden my heart. It allows me to take all of the anxiety that’s rolling around in my heart and mind and place it right in front of me where I can read, analyze and decide what to do with it. I started this process when I was 12 years old and never stopped. With each letter I type (or back then wrote), I feel/felt a sense of relief and accomplishment. It’s probably why I ended up becoming a journalist, and working for a small newspaper for six years before my chronic migraine disease took over and I had to stop working in 2008.

In 2012, I started hearing more and more about blogs and how people could make money from them. At the time, I had tried tons of jobs: working part-time, working as an Avon Rep., working from home for friends etc. but none of them worked out because of my ever present, on going and disabling neurological head disease. So I decided to give blogging a try. Successful writers always say, “write about what you know,” so I decided to start a migraine blog. The aim, to make money while helping myself and others.

To date I’ve not made any money from this blog lol, but I’ve gained so much more. Blogging about my chronic illness has not only proven to be therapeutic, but it’s also put me in touch with all of you – people who can empathize with what i’m going through. Before blogging, I only knew episodic migraineurs, so I always wondered what was wrong with me. I felt weak, lazy, worthless and…I could go on with disparaging adjectives. Since joining wordpress.com that’s all changed. You, the migraine community give me hope. Not only have you listened and supported me, but you’ve taught me to become my own advocate and most importantly that with the right treatment I can better cope with this awful disease.

Thank you to you all; you give me hope.

– Skylar

When I started this post I was so depressed I thought I wouldn’t get through it. Now I feel like me :).

 

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

6 thoughts on “Blogging For Sanity and Solidarity – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 8

  1. I was blessed to have the most lovable Pomeranian for almost 14 years. We lost her in March, and I’m still hurting. Lacey somehow always knew when I had a migraine. If I was laying down she’d actually curl up on my pillow next to my head. I’d call her my “Worry Pom” because she would sit on my lap or next to me and just let me pat her. Sigh. On a different note, I have to agree about the blogging. Since I became disabled, I think it’s the only thing that saves my sanity.

  2. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

