Having a Support System Is a MUST!!! – MHAM Challenge Day 4

Today’s prompt: Large Migraine and Headache Hopes: What large thing gives you hope for living with Headaches and Migraines?

photo credit: Reaching out via photopin (license)

photo credit: Reaching out via photopin (license)

Chronic migraine is a voracious, ravaging, beast. It tears me up physically, emotionally and mentally. Most days I have the emotional and mental fortitude to fight back…most days.

There are days however, when I feel like there’s not an ounce of fight left in me and I just want to give up…but I don’t. On those days I think first of my God who I feel accountable to and who promises to sustain me no matter what (Psalm 34:15, 18; 2 Corinthians 4:7; 10:13). Then I think of the beautiful faces of my family who depend on me to fight: my husband, parents, siblings, nieces and nephews… When I think of the devastation they’d feel ( including my Heavenly Father – Isaiah 63:9), if I just gave up, I’m motivated to keep striking at my vicious migraine beast; motivated to hope and to dream.

Do you have a support system? You really should. Surround yourself with people who will build you up not tear you down. If they’re not in your household, look to your friends. If they’re not among your friends, change your friends. And remember, there’s a whole community of migraineurs worldwide that can and will empathize with your pain.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

One thought on “Having a Support System Is a MUST!!! – MHAM Challenge Day 4

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

