Thank Goodness for the Odd “Good” Day – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 3

Today’s prompt: Small Headache and Migraine Hopes: What small thing gives you hope for living with Headaches and Migraines?

Photo by yours truly, Skylar :)

Photo by yours truly, Skylar 🙂

As I stated in one of my posts yesterday, I have lived with Chronic Migraines and daily persistent headaches for more than 13 years. As a result, I’m in bed, in pain, 80% of the time. That means constant cancellations, a dirty house, dirty dogs (only a few days past due), and a superhero husband with a very heavy load.

Amidst my cloud of doom however, are little rays of “good” days that glimmer every so often. A good day being a regular headache (not all of my headaches are migraine related), that I consider mild. On those “good” days I clean my house from top to bottom and suffer a 3 day migraine and then I’m back into my cycle of bad to severe to excruciating pain. Or I dance all night at a party, or go to dinner with my husband or just rejoice that I feel so close to my old self that I almost believe that the new treatment, diet, sleep pattern, herbal tea…is working and then I wake up the next day with a WHAMMY of a migraine and the cycle begins again.

Despite the migraine roller coaster I just described, those “good” days give me hope. They make me want to keep fighting for more and more good days.

What small thing gives you hope? Let me know in the comment section below.

– Skylar

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

One thought on “Thank Goodness for the Odd “Good” Day – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 3

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

