Be Someone’s Hope – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 2

Today’s Prompt: Who Helps You Hope?: Which person in your life has helped you most to hold on to hope, despite your Migraines or Headaches and how?

Image found on quotesnsmiles.com under 31 Rumi picture quotes for self realization.

Image found on quotesnsmiles.com under 31 Rumi picture quotes for self realization.

The featured image (right), found at quotesnsmiles.com under Rumi Quotes inspired the following thoughts.

I have many lamps, lifeboats, ladders and shepherds in my life. It would be impossible for me to choose just one person for this post. Many of you have given me light bulb inspiration via your positive blog posts and/or comments in response to mine; or just a sense of belonging…united by our pain. My friends have called when I was at the bottom of my emotional pit and provided a way out via their loving and kind words. At times when I’m dreadfully low I reach out to them and they throw me a life raft. Just thinking of the beautiful faces of my nieces and nephews and how happy they are to see me gives me hope.

Those however who stand out as shepherds are my husband, my parents and my sister-in-law. I am in bed, in the dark, 80% of my life due to my chronic pain. My husband cooks, cleans, encourages me, puts up with my moodiness and amazingly still loves me. My parents help out where we need and even surprise us with what we want, making MANY sacrifices along the way. My sister-in-law, who suffers from lupus, fibromyalgia and migraines, calls to check on me EVERYDAY (and vice versa), and will pick up meds, food etc. when she runs her errands on her good days.

The love shown by all the aforementioned helps me to hold onto hope despite my chronic migraine pain.

But ultimately I am grateful to the greater shepherds, Jehovah God and Jesus Christ, who make the impossible possible. The ones who turn on the lamps, send the lifeboats, lift up the ladders and strengthen the under-shepherds. The ones who provide the power beyond what is normal (2 Corinthians 4:7). And the ones who will one day make all things new. – Revelation 21:3, 4; Isaiah 33:24; 2 Corinthians 4:16-18; Psalm 37:9-11; Isaiah 65:21-23 and Isaiah 11:6-9

– Skylar

P.S. Still in SEVERE pain (#8) due to my spontaneous and crazy outing yesterday. See Migraine Warning for details.

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the:
American Headache and Migraine Association.”

 

One thought on “Be Someone’s Hope – MHAM Blog Challenge Day 2

  1. Pingback: MHAM 2015 Blog Challenge Posts 1-30 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

