Workout Despite Chronic Migraine

photo credit: 29 via photopin (license)

photo credit: 29 via photopin (license)

Working out, despite my chronic migraines and daily persistent headaches, has been a goal of mine for years. I always start out with passion and vigor but in the end my pain always wins out. I recently started a new program however, one I intend to maintain.

While youtube surfing one day, I came across Cassey Ho’s blogilates channel. After watching a few videos featuring her style of Pilates, I decided her floor work exercises were doable for someone like me, so I began with her beginners videos. For the last three weeks, I’ve managed to be consistent. I work out every day except, Wednesdays and Sundays, as long as my pain level is tolerable.

When you watch the video below, you’ll probably think, “Piece of cake!”, as I did; but was I wrong. The workout is simple and easy on your joints and in my case head, but your muscles REALLY get a good work out and a good stretch. The program is so intense that my husband’s decided to join me.

For those of you that read my article: Chronic illness/ Pain & Exercise we did stop our nightly salsa dancing, but started again last week. We do a half hour workout with Cassey and then a fifteen minute dance for some cardio.

If you have a workout program despite your chronic pain please share what you do. If not, talk to your doctor about starting one. I did and she encouraged me to go for it. In fact, she said it will help to reduce my chronic pain (we’ll see), and improve my mood – that has happened. Below is the first video I started with. Hope you like :)!

– Skylar

 

4 thoughts on “Workout Despite Chronic Migraine

  1. I am so happy I found your blog. I have one friend who shares my issues with chronic migraines, but it is so hard to find people who understand how really debilitating it is. Working out has been difficult for me the last few months–I seem to get headaches too brought on by working out, so consistency for me has been challenging. The last three weeks I’ve been back to my “former” workout schedule of you want to call it. A mix of Zumba, dancing, Pilates, and strength training. I try to work out 5 days per week unless I have pain. And if I feel like zumba may be much for me one day, I have videos I do instead for Pilates and strength training. Thanks for the inspiration and support.

    • Yay! I’m so happy you checked out my blog (THANKS! 🙂 ), and even happier that you benefitted from it. Suffering from chronic migraines can make you feel so alone. I have two friends that suffer from Lupus, but not chronic migraine. They know how debilitating it is to suffer from pain all the time, but they can’t understand my pain as I can’t there’s.

      It wasn’t until I started this blog that I found out there was a whole Chronic Migraine community. I used to think something was wrong with me, cause all the migraineurs I knew suffered from episodic migraines and couldn’t understand why I couldn’t just take: Excedrin Migraine or Tonopan, or Relpax or … Then you have those who’ve never had a migraine before and think it’s just a headache.

      I started to feel weak, worthless and lazy. Now I know that’s not true. Chronic migraine is debilitating, isolating and I can go on :).

      It’s great that you and your friend have each other. It’s also good that you have a workout regimen (when you’re well enough to do it – totally understand). It’s hard (even on tolerable days), but so worth it in the end.

      Well take care. I’ll check out your blog too.

      – Skylar 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chronic Migraine – The Saboteur of Hope | MigrainePuzzlePieces

  3. Pingback: Exercise Despite Chronic Migraine – “My-Graine” Action Plan Step 5 | MigrainePuzzlePieces

Leave a Reply

