Progress Despite Chronic Migraine – Day One – Please Join The Fight

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

Today I’m in tolerable pain. I suffer from daily persistent headaches and I have at least one severe migraine per month. AT LEAST one. I have had chronic head pain for more than 13 years. My head literally hurts all the time. It just ranges from tolerable persistent daily headaches to excruciating migraine headaches. I am at home, in the dark and in bed 80% of the time. As a result, I’ve also begun a battle with depression.

Today I have a regular headache. “How can I tell?” you ask. My headache is not throbbing or pounding on one side of my head; I don’t have light sensitivity; my pain does not worsen with movement and so on.

Today is still a difficult day though, because I’m terribly depressed. As promised however, I read my post: 365 Days of Progress Despite Chronic Migraine and I’ve been folding the mountain of clean clothes that’s scattered all around my bedroom. While doing that, I’ve been separating the clothes that have holes in them so I can sew them when I’m done. If my pain is tolerable after that, I’ll begin decluttering my room. If not, I’ll do that on another tolerable pain day.

This is major progress for me. Since I wrote the aforementioned post of my goals, I plummeted into a state of inactivity so deep that my husband told me last night, that my giving up the fight is severely discouraging to him. For some reason, I guess because I love him, I was motivated to begin fighting again. As a result, I challenge you to join me. Take up my 365 day challenge and each day, in the comment section under my post, tell me about your daily progress. Also write a post on your blog and leave me a link to read it. If we fight together we’ll be more likely to succeed. I look forward to hearing from you.

– Skylar

 

 

2 thoughts on “Progress Despite Chronic Migraine – Day One – Please Join The Fight

  1. Sometimes it’s harder to deal with the depression over the headache/migraine pain. I am like you with head pain for over 10 years Glad to know that love was motivation for you it should always be that small voice inside your head

    • I agree, depression is so debilitating. But coupled with a regular headache or worse a migraine headache it makes everyday chores or affairs seem impossible.

      Today I won out over the depression. I got all of my clothes folded and put away and I repaired most of the holes – mainly in socks. It made me feel really good about myself.

      I have a great support system – my husband, parents and in-laws. When I feel like completely giving up, I reflect on their love, patience and hope. They help to prevent my small voice vanishing into oblivion. 🙂

      I’m so sorry you have this horrendous battle too. Wishing you a tolerable day, better yet week. Thanks for sharing.

      – Skylar

Leave a Reply

