I Hate Migraine I Just Want To Be Normal

migraineurI cried yesterday at my local travel agency. I’ll be visiting family in England this summer and will be flying on British Airways (BA). As most of you know, I’m following a very strict diet with the hope that it will end my daily headache, and help me to control my migraines to the point that they become episodic or better yet gone forever.

Based on what the BA representative, my travel agent and BA’s website said, I’m going to have to carry my own food wa wa waaaa… The discussion at the agency made me feel as if myΒ entire trip, which is supposed to be fun, will be daunting and frustrating – that’s why I cried. My family loves to dine out huhhh… How will I make my diet work without compromising in any way or just throwing in the towel? This is the first time I’ve stuck so closely to this diet, so I don’t want to give up now huhhh… Nor do I want to eat bland food huhhh…

I hate migraine. I just want to be normal.

– Skylar (written with a heavy heart 😦 )

 

16 thoughts on “I Hate Migraine I Just Want To Be Normal

  1. Hey Skylar,

    Whereabouts in England does your family stay? I speak as a Brit who lives in Scotland who was born in England πŸ™‚ I’m sure some stuff will figure out when you arrive and suss the lie of the land….Could you email the family in advance and they could do a bit of research into places that might be good for you? Speaking as a fellow migraineur(-euse!) I’d be happy to do a bit of looking for you xx

    • We’ll spend most of the time in Cumbria very near Scotland and I’m almost sure we’ll visit Scotland. And we’ll visit other places in the South mainly London and Southampton.

      Thanks for the suggestions I LOVE THEM and will use them. Your help would be appreciated once you don’t have to go out of your way to do so.

      Thanks,

      – Skylar

      P.S. Here’s a link to the diet I’m following: https://migrainepuzzlepieces.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/migraine-trigger-free-diet/

      I’m also off gluten. Do they have gluten free fish’n chip shops? If so have you tried them?

      • Lucky you, Cumbria is so beautiful!

        Ach, tis too sad we had the best chippie down the road here in Edinburgh which did gluten free Wednesdays but they’re under new management now and I’m not sure they carried that over. I found this. See if it matches anywhere you’re going (can’t vouch for the quality of fishnchips, mind!!) http://www.federationoffishfriers.co.uk/pages/gluten-free-directory-596.htm

        Not sure whether it would be ‘safer’ to stick to a few nice chains whose menus you’ve checked out or go to a small independent restaurants where you can put in a special request for a dish in advance and then if they can’t do something they’re less likely to mind if you do bring your own stuff along (especially if you’re part of a larger group, surely?! And it’s for medical reasons?!). What do you usually do about eating out? Or do you tend not to?

      • I only started eating like this July 2nd and I’ve only eaten out once and that was a chore. That’s why I’m concerned. Our fears are usually greater than our reality though, so I’ probably stressing for no reason.

        Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out.

        – Skylar

  2. ps. totally get what a major pain in the A migraine can be on holiday. I was housebound while my family enjoyed mountaineering in Italy. All I could do was wander like a zombie around the village and ride the cable cars up and down the mountains! But…if there’s anything I can do from this side of the pond as someone who gets it a bit, just lemme know xx

    • That’s what I’m afraid of. I spend 80% of my life at home and most of that time in bed.

      However, I was out and about on Fri., Sat., Sun., and Mon. with no migraine. My daily headache was #5 but I didn’t have a migraine yay! So the diet MAY be working that’s why I really don’t want to give up now.

      By 9pm last night I got a migraine though lol and I’m still in bed now, but I would so do it all again :).

  3. hi! I live in England (near Cumbria actually, a little bit south) and I am gluten free. If you have a little look online you will definitely find fish and chip shops that are gluten free, and most of the chain restaurants here are really good at telling you exactly what is in each dish and providing allergy info, mostly online and also in the restaurant. I know pizza express, bella italia and ask italian do great gluten free italian food all over the UK but i’m not sure about other dietary requirements. Supermarkets are also pretty good at stocking lots of gluten free food too. Good luck on your trip, I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful time. Try not to worry about your diet too much, England is one of the best places I’ve been for dietary requirements :)x

    • Thanks! Knowing that there will be gluten free fish’n chips is comforting. I don’t want to travel all the way there and not have any. Also knowing that restaurants list ingredients and may be willing to work with me is another plus.

      Thanks again!

      – Skylar πŸ™‚

  4. I’m traveling for work next month, but only to North Carolina. πŸ™‚ As you know, I’m also on a super strict diet. I’m also pretty well versed at traveling while on a strict diet so if there is any way I can help you, let me know. Maybe one thing to do is to identify, say, three of the things you’re most concerned about, and then an action plan for each. If it’s the air travel day, it’s actually not TOO big of a deal to make and bring your own meals. I do it all the time. I mean, yeah, it’s not awesome, but it’s manageable. Or maybe it’s less daunting to me because I’ve had to do it more often. I’m not trying to down play your fear, just say that it can and will all be managed. πŸ™‚ And you get to go to Scotland!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • When you go to restaurants, do you give them a list of all the food that you can have and ask then not to deviate? That’s what I plan to do. Just want to know if you’ve tried it and how well it works.

      I do think I’ll have to prepare my meals for the flight. I just hope I don’t have to do that when we go out to eat. I so don’t want to look like the crazy lady lol πŸ™‚

      – Skylar

      • At restaurants I look at their menu and try to order using my modified needs. Honestly I’d never thought of giving them my own list. I guess if it was a super awesome place, that could be one way to go and they might love the challenge. πŸ™‚ If it’s a really busy place though, they might not. Places that offer steak are your best bet. Last week I had a work lunch and I literally had to say “Can I please have the large house salad, add chicken, hold the parm cheese, hold the croutons, and just oil and vinegar on the side”, and then of course just didn’t use the vinegar when it came. It was not delicious. But it also didn’t trigger a migraine, so it was successful in that regard. πŸ™‚

        Regarding your flight, decide if you want something you’ll prefer to enjoy cold, or warm. You can get a thermos type thing and pre-heat your meal and stick it in there to keep it hot, or, you can opt for something cold and keep it that way with ice packs. I’ve done both. πŸ™‚ For instance, a stew kept hot in a thermos, or meat and veggies you enjoy cold in a plastic container with a good lid. It’s really not a big deal, you just have to plan ahead. Grab some little salt and pepper packets from an airport fast food place just in case you need them and keep them in your travel lunch bag. πŸ™‚

      • No problem, we’re all in this together! And I hope my tone in saying “it’s really not a big deal” didn’t sound flip or dismissive. I know it IS a big deal when it’s overwhelming and new. It gets easy to adjust to, is what I was trying to say. πŸ™‚ I think of it like bringing along my medicine. πŸ™‚

      • Not at all. I wasn’t offended. In fact, I’m beginning to have more low pain days. My daily headache norm is usually a #5 which quickly escalates into a mind crushing migraine; but today it’s a #2 (bouncing from 2 to 5 because I’m cleaning today). I’ve had at least two other days this month with pain level #2 and no resulting migraine.

        So the diet is a bother because I can’t eat what I want and I feel like I’m cooking my self into insanity but having a really good day is worth it. I hope it keeps getting better.

        So I understand what you mean. Planning ahead for the flight isn’t too big a deal. I was happy you said that because I wondered if I could take my own food. I’ve never had to before. I plan to take a salad with chunks of grilled chicken and sunflower seeds, some gluten free cake and some fruits.

    • My vacation was fabulous. In the three weeks I traveled I was in bed for about seven days. About three days per week. But I was still able to do and see a lot; and finding food was no problem.

      When I got back I stopped my diet and my pain became more severe and therefore debilitating. As a result, most days I couldn’t write and when the pain was tolerable I was depressed and/or had to work on jewelry. I’m back on my diet now and experiencing better days.

      Thanks for asking :).

      – Skylar

Leave a Reply

