“Where There’s A Will There’s A Way” – Recovery Day: 8

I had a fabulous day yesterday. No I was not pain free – I wish. I spent a day out with my mother. We went makeup shopping, clothes shopping and migraine trigger free food shopping.

Though my husband did a great job, the other day when he stocked our cupboards with food that works in harmony with the way I’m trying to eat, there were a few things he didn’t notice on the ingredient lists when he bought my gluten free products – chips, bread and wraps. In addition to that, he wasn’t able to find any treats or crackers. I need crackers for my homemade hummus (yum!).

A a result, I was beginning to get discouraged; beginning to think, there are no gluten free substitutes that work with my new way of eating. My mother, sympathising with my plight, took me to a specialty store that sells gluten free, organic, vegan, dairy free … products. We were able to find bread, wraps, crackers, english muffins, spagetti, chips and even a cake yay! As you can imagine I’m overjoyed.

Here’s a list of what I found and their ingredients:
Food for Life Gluten Free Tortillas – Brown Rice: Brown Rice Flour, Filtered Water, Tapioca Flour, Safflower Oil, Rice Bran, Vegetable Gum (Xanthan, Cellulose) Sea Salt

Food for Life All Natural Gluten Free English Muffins – Brown Rice: Organic Brown Rice Flour, Filtered Water, Organic Tapioca Flour, Potato Starch, Fresh Yeast, Sea Salt, Vegetable Gum (Xanthan, Cellulose

Food for Life All Natural Gluten Free Bread – Brown Rice: Organic Brown Rice Flour, Filtered Water, Organic Agave, Organic Tapioca Flour, Safflower Oil, Organic Chia Seeds, Fresh Yeast, Vegetable Gum, (Xanthan, Cellulose), Rice Bran, Sea Salt

Explore Asian Authentic Cuisine Gluten Free Spagetti – Organic Black Bean: Organic Black Beans 92%, Water 8%

Kettle Brand Potato Chips: Potatoes, Safflower and/or Sunflower and/or Canola Oil, Sea Salt

Tinkyáda Gluten Free Organic Brown Rice Penne Pasta: Organic Brown Rice, Water

Edward and Sons Baked Organic Brown Rice Snaps – Unsalted Plain: (what I call crackers) Organic Brown Rice Flower, Organic White Rice Flour

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Vanilla Cake Mix: Sugar, Potato Starch Tapioca Flour, Whole Grain Sorghum Flour, Baking Powder (Monocalcium Phosphate, Bicarbonate of Soda, Corn Starch), Sea Salt (Magnesium Carbonate), Xanthan Gum, Natural Vanilla Powder (Sugar, Corn Starch, Vanilla Extract)

N.B. Before purchasing these items, please read their
labels on the actual product in the event that I didn’t copy them correctly.

– Skylar

3 thoughts on ““Where There’s A Will There’s A Way” – Recovery Day: 8

  1. Skylar,

    Loving your posts, as always! I wasn’t sure how to get in touch with you, other than via a comment on your blog, so I’ll ask here: I am launching a new program called The Migraine Warrior Project. Each week, on “Warrior Wednesday”, a different Migraine Warrior will be featured on my blog as “Migraine Warrior of the Week!” I have a questionnaire for prospective candidates to fill out and return to me via e-mail, with pictures of both their “good” days and “migraine” days attached. I’d love to feature you one week. Would you be interested? E-mail me at chedeco@gmail.com for more information and to let me know if you are interested in participating. Thanks! Keep up the amazing work! ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

