Don’t Overdo It – Migraine Recovery Day: 6

photo credit: jazbeck via photopin cc

photo credit: jazbeck via photopin cc

Whenever I have a “tolerable” day, I almost always overdo it.

July 6th was one of those days. I was in the groove. I went out then came home cooked, cleaned and ignored the creeping migraine symptoms.

First my regular daily headache turned into a pulsing migraine headache behind my right eye. It was only a #2 migraine headache (#5/6 regular headache), so I pressed on, despite my husband’s urgings to go to bed. He wasn’t feeling well so I was trying to lighten his load.

Then my neck began to feel stiff. But I kept going.

After which the sunlight streaming in the open windows began to bother me. But I kept going.

When I finally laid down, I had all the aforementioned symptoms along with nausea, irritability and an excruciating migraine headache. Wa Wa Waaaaaa…

Think I should have stopped once the migraine headache began? No I should have stopped when I realised I was euphoric – one of my prodromes. When will I learn? As I type, I’m still battling my inflicted migraine :(.

Note to self: Remember to take care of yourself. A “good” day doesn’t mean you’re back to your old self. One task at a time Skylar. One task at a time. You only have so many spoons.

July 5th meals:
Breakfast and Lunch:
Pork Chop Sandwich and potato chips (I wrote this post: Migraine Friendly Meals to Go after eating this meal. That’s why the potato chips are mentioned here. Still looking for another brand):
Pork Chop: Salt and Black Pepper
Bread: Gluten free
Fixings: Butter, Grated Carrots and Lettuce

Dinner:
Salmon and a Baked Potato
Salmon: Salt, Black Pepper and Distilled White Vinegar
Potato: Butter, Salt, Black Pepper, Green Onion and Butter

Desert:
Mango (I don’t always have mangos, but they’re now in season and soooo sweet and delicious.)

July 6th meals:
Egg Sandwich:
Egg: Scrambled with Salt and Black Pepper
Bread: Gluten free with butter

Lunch:
Shrimp Stir Fry with Quinoa
Stir Fry: Shrimp, Carrots, Broccoli, Celery, Green Onion, Garlic, Ginger, Salt, Black Pepper and Distilled White Vinegar
Quinoa: Salt

Dinner:
Beef Stew and Gluten free Bread with butter:
Beef, Carrots, Potatoes, Celery, Green Onion, Garlic, Corn, Kidney Beans (prepped by soaking overnight and then boiling in garlic water and cumin – I don’t eat canned foods)

N.B. I used the bean broth to cook the stew in. To make the stew thick, I mashed up some of the potatoes and put them back in the stew (flour replacement).

Desert:
Mango, Cantaloupe and Peppermint Tea with brown sugar

N.B. My main beverage of choice is water. I usually have peppermint tea w/out sugar once or twice a day. When I’m treating myself I add a little sugar.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Overdo It – Migraine Recovery Day: 6

  1. I get euphoric after a big migraine. I think it’s because I’ve been bored for so long lying around in bed that I just want to do something. I cook, I clean, I write assignments – I’m a mad woman. Then everything settles down again and the next migraine hits.

Leave a Reply

