There’s Always Plan B – Migraine Recovery Day: 3

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

I woke up with a head pulsing, mind numbing, migraine headache yesterday – fortunately without nausea. It completely ruined my plans for the day.

For recovery day three, I was SUPPOSED to spend about 15 minutes, outside, playing fetch with my beautiful 5-year-old American Bulldog. The aim, to provide her with some fun and exercise and to begin receiving my daily dose of vitamin d – also known as the sunshine vitamin.

Why is this necessary especially for someone with photophobia – light sensitivity?
Chronic migraineurs are prone to vitamin d deficiency. Many, if not most of us, suffer from light sensitivity and as a result, spend inordinate amounts of time indoors often in tolerable to excruciating pain. I personally spend so much time inside with the blinds and curtains drawn, that my husband playfully calls me his little vampire.

While we can get vitamin d from some food groups and/or supplements, sunlight is known to be the best source of this essential vitamin.

What does vitamin d deficiency do to the body?
According to WebMD:

“Symptoms of bone pain and muscle weakness can mean you have a vitamin D deficiency. However, for many people, the symptoms are subtle. Yet, even without symptoms, too little vitamin D can pose health risks. Low blood levels of the vitamin have been associated with the following:

  • Increased risk of death from cardiovascular disease
  • Cognitive impairment in older adults
  • Severe asthma in children
  • Cancer
“Research suggests that vitamin D could play a role in the prevention and treatment of a number of different conditions, including type1 and type 2 diabetes,hypertension, glucose intolerance, and multiple sclerosis.”
Considering the aforementioned health risks, motivated me to want to spend more time in the sun. My aim is at least 15 minutes per day. As I said though, my plan was foiled yesterday due to a migraine that’s present as I type, though my symptoms are not as severe. Consequently, my sunlight therapy will begin another day.
So what was my plan B?
During a health chat on twitter, a number of migraineurs mentioned the benefits of aromatherapy. I had wanted to try it for sometime and yesterday provided the opportunity to do so. While in the worst part of my suffering, I applied lavender essential oil to my temples. I was afraid the scent would make me worse, but it didn’t; though I don’t think it helped either. I will however give it another go. In fact, I’m going to try applying it daily to see what happens.
Have any of you tried aroma therapy with success? What’s your treatment process?
July 3rd meals:
For breakfast and lunch I had pan fried salmon and grits:
The salmon was seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic and distilled white vinegar.
The grits had just salt and butter.
For dinner I had a shrimp wrap with carrot sticks:
The shrimp was seasoned with: garlic, ginger, cumin, salt and pepper.
The wrap was a gluten free spinach wrap.
The carrots were raw.
N.B. Please consult your doctor before trying anything new. See my copyright and disclaimer info.
 – Skylar

 

 

Leave a Reply

