The Fight Continues

photo credit: Paul Stevenson via photopin cc

photo credit: Paul Stevenson via photopin cc

I woke up this morning and realised that it’s July 1st – one day post Migraine and Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) – and for a moment I felt a sadness. I felt as if the fight was over, and I felt myself reverting to my pessimistic, “There’s no hope for me”, mode. Then I got it together and realised that it’s not. Our fight for better healthcare, real remedies and ridding the world of the stigma that surrounds chronic migraine continues.

As a community, we may no longer be united by prompts provided by various people and websites, but we’re still united in our desire to gain control of our bodies and our lives. We’re still dedicated to educating ourselves and the community.

If there’s one thing I learnt from 2014’s MHAM, it’s that I have to be my own health advocate. There’s a quote I love that I feel is so appropriate for the stage I find myself now:

If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten. – Anthony Robbins

With that in mind, it’s time for me to get it together emotionally so I can help myself physically. As a result, every day in July will be dedicated to creating a routine that will contribute to my overall heath and wellness.

Each day, I’ll blog about the change I’ve made no matter how small; for a river may not be crossed in one leap, but with careful, well-planned steps, each stone brings you closer to its bank.

– Skylar

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Fight Continues

Leave a Reply

