Migraine Anecdote – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 26

photo credit: thedailyenglishshow via photopin cc

photo credit: thedailyenglishshow via photopin cc

Today’s prompt: “Still I Rise” by Maya Angelou (see video below)

Living with chronic migraine (CM), has been one of the greatest trials I’ve had to endure in my short 34 years of existence. “He” snuck in one day, as a single migraine attack, and kept coming back until “he” moved in and got cozy despite many eviction warnings.

Since CM became my constant, unwanted, companion, my life has been difficult. “He” nagged me until I gave up my job; prevented the realisation of most of my goals; took away my confidence and passed on “his” nasty qualities: darkness, isolation and depression.

Despite “his” continued abuse, “still I rise”, as the late Maya Angelou poetically said.

To fight back, I sleep when “he’s” angry; make jewellery when “he’s” resting; enjoy sunlight, friendship and happiness when “he’s” out; draw close to others when “he’s” bringing me down and get up when “he” makes me fall. Oh and please keep this a secret – “his” eviction is imminent.

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

 

 

2 thoughts on “Migraine Anecdote – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 26

    • Cool! I’ve read about a number of famous migraineurs that are or were artistic e.g. author of Alice and Wonderland, Lewis Carroll. So we fall in that grouping. Snazzy! 😉

      I sell mine and I’m trying to get them in retail stores in my area. I’m hoping to bring in a weekly salary again. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

