Migraine Burn Out – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 25

photo credit: Key Foster via photopin cc

photo credit: Key Foster via photopin cc

Today’s prompt: “Why Change is So Hard” video

According to Dan Heath, featured in the prompt video below, psychologists have proven time and again that, and I quote, “self control in the broad sense of the term, meaning anytime we’re really monitoring our own behaviour carefully, is exhaustible … In almost every change situation, what we’re doing is we’re substituting new unfamiliar behaviours for behaviours that are older and more comfortable and that burns self control … What looks like laziness is often exhaustion. Change simply wears people out. Even well intentioned people will simply run out of self control after a while.”

Based on the above quote and featured video, I’m convinced I have migraine burn out.

  1. I’ve been trying to carry out the migraine trigger free diet outlined in the book, Heal Your Headache The 1-2-3 Program, by Dr. David Buchholz, M.D, for the past three years with no success.
  2. I recently decided to try eating a gluten free diet – no success.
  3. I’ve been trying to consistently write in my migraine diary – yet another failed attempt just this month, which means I have to restart my milestone counter huh!
  4. I’ve been trying to adjust my sleep patterns; again with no success. N.B. When I have a #10 migraine during the day, I sleep for hours and then I can’t sleep at night. Then I have a period of weeks where I sleep until 12 noon or later and go to bed after 3:00am. I can usually resume a regular sleep pattern, but not for the past 3 months or more.
  5. I’ve been trying to carry out a low impact exercise program 3 times per week – again no success.

In the beginning, I had such self-control. I did everything according to the “migraine rules”. I suppose it was because it was all new and I hoped to effect change; hope that was perhaps lost as weeks turned into months, months into years and years into more than a decade of chronic migraine, thus rendering me EXHAUSTED. Exhausted with self-control. Exhausted with the pain and disabling effects of migraine and exhausted by the stigma attached to it.

I am thoroughly exhausted – burnt out! As such the video left me with a question. How do you regain your self-control?

Any suggestions from those who continue to have self-control in the areas I mentioned? Or suggestions from those who lost it and regained it? Help!

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

5 thoughts on “Migraine Burn Out – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 25

  1. Yes yes yes Skylar, yes. All of it. Everything you said. I have no suggestions for you bc I’m in exactly the same migraine burnout boat. At least you’ve got the water thing down. 😉 What migraine tracking app do you use? I use “My Pain Diary” and I have kind of been able to keep up, bc you can enter as much or as little info as you like, and add more info later. Sometimes all I enter for the day is a pain #.

    • Wow at least I know it’s not just me being lazy. It’s been eating away at what’s left of my self-esteem. We gatta figure out how to regain the control. I hope someone has some suggestions to help us :).

      I don’t use any app at the moment. I don’t have any kind of cell phone (need to save up for one).

      My hubby and I do have an iPad, but it’s the first one so most of the good apps are too advanced for it. I’ll check out, “My Pain Diary”, see if it’s compatible – though I don’t use the iPad as much since I got my laptop. The iPad is my husband’s baby and the laptop mine. It may work though. I’ll let you know.

      With all that said my headache diary is an “old-school” book lol ;). Maybe that’s why I keep failing lol 🙂 (cheesy grin).

  2. I wish I knew, Skylar. It seems so easy to lose all the motivation and so hard to get it back. I do, however, suggest you start with one thing at a time. Trying to do all of that will just exhaust you further.

Leave a Reply

