Share Your Dream – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 23

photo credit: kevin dooley via photopin cc

photo credit: kevin dooley via photopin cc

Today’s prompt: “A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality” John Lennon

I had to ponder this prompt for a while; think about what Jonh Lennon was trying to communicate, and what I can take from it as a chronic migraineur “dreaming of a world without headache and migraine” – this year’s migraine awareness theme.

I can’t promise that I understand what John Lennon was hoping to inspire in us, but I can tell you how I’ve benefitted from his words.

A dream is the “brainchild” of one individual who can then share that dream with others. If the idea garners support, a plan is made and the idea comes to fruition – i.e. making it a reality.

For example, someone dreamt up what we today call an elevator. That individual may have made drawings, notes on how it would function etc. Someone else thought it was a great idea, the plan was put in motion and voila we have the option of stairs or a lift to our designated floor.

On the other hand, a dream kept to oneself is subject to the danger of never being realised by the dreamer.

How do I benefit?

I dream of better health, a life unhindered by migraine. I can keep dreaming about it, and dreaming about it, with no actual plan to achieve it. The result, poor health and a bland existence.

However, if I share this dream, with my spouse, loved ones, and healthCARE providers, we can all get together and create a plan. A plan that will be successful because everyone is working toward the goal; thus eliminating “loving” enablers that don’t see why I can’t eat that, or use that particular cleaning product … “kindly” helping me to sabotage my motivation and ultimately the realisation of my dream.

With everyone understanding and agreeing to the plan, which may consist of: a diet change, the prescription of natural supplements and/or medication, diagnostic testing … the dream moves closer to fulfilment. There may of course be plan B, C, D … as the need arises. Yet, with each revised plan my dream, which was stagnant when kept to myself, moves slowly but steadily toward the goal – better health and a life unhindered by migraine.

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

4 thoughts on “Share Your Dream – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 23

  1. I love the idea of “revising” your dreams. It gives me hope that, even if everything doesn’t go EXACTLY according to plan, dreams can still come true. You inspire me with a lot of hope, Skylar.

    • Thank you! That was my aim.

      I have been inspired by you, and others carrying out this blog challenge, too. When I read articles like yours and other sufferers I realise I’m not alone. And everyone writes from a different perspective; providing hope, courage and strength in a variety of ways.

      Before starting MHAMBC, I was just existing. I wasn’t seeing doctors, eating properly … But I’ve started my fight again.

      So thanks to you for also being an inspiration and for your encouraging words.

      – Skylar

Leave a Reply

