Migraine & Support – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 22

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

Today’s prompt: “Every Breath You Take” video Ally McBeal surprise.
Robert Downey Jr and Sting duet. Write to us about someone special in your life who watches over you.

Today’s prompt asks that I identify someONE who watches over me. However, it’s impossible for me to name just one person. It would bother my conscience indefinitely. My husband is of course my main caregiver, but we have a great support system in my parents and sister.

My Husband:
He puts up with so much. He REALLY loves me. Not with just eros – sexual love; but with agape – principal love. He makes me laugh when I’m thoroughly depressed, he hugs me when I cry and he’s patient with me when I’m snippy.

He reminds me to focus on what I can do and not what I can’t. He makes me feel beautiful, even when I have dark circles under my eyes, knotty hair and so need to take a bath. He prepares meals for me, goes back and forth with icepacks as they melt and I need a new one, puts me in the bath, massages my head and/or neck … whatever I need to relieve, or just take the edge off of, my severe migraine headaches he does without complaint. He’s even stayed home on days when I was in so much pain I thought I was going to die.

And I’ll never forget the day I was so mean I thought he would be through with me. To my surprise, he quietly brought my meal, icepack etc. When I asked with tears in my eyes, “Why are you being so nice when I was so mean.” He looked me in the eyes, with exhaustion and tender affection in his face, and said, “I’m no fair weather friend.”

My Parents:
I’ll start by saying I have THE BEST parents in the world. They’ve always provided what I need, given me what I want and at times refused what I wanted to teach me that life isn’t always easy. They attended swim meets, ballet recitals and parent’s evening; helped me with homework and projects, read stories to me, played with me, took my friends and me out dancing when we were teenagers …

After I got married their love expanded to include my husband. They’ve truly embraced him as their son. As such, they do whatever they can to help us financially and physically.

If they have to prepare a meal and drop it off, or purchase one, they’ll do it. If our laundry piles up my mom will wash it. If the house gets really bad, they’ll pay their housekeeper to clean it, or my mom will come by to assist. Any doctor’s appointment, medication, diagnostic test … we need and can’t afford (I no longer have health insurance), they sacrifice what they need to assist us. And if ever I have an attack at their house they’re just as loving, patient and accommodating as my hubby.

My Sister:
She’s a stay at home mom with two beautiful boys. We talk on the phone everyday. She’s my bit of sanity when my husband’s at work and I’m all alone with my migraine. She tells me funny stories about the boys, we talk about movies we enjoy, our husbands and anything that will give us a laugh.

Anytime she goes out, and she knows I’m not sleeping, she’ll check in to see if I need anything. On days when I’m depressed and I don’t want to see anyone, she comes over ANYWAY and lays in the bed with me. Sometimes we chat, watch a movie or take a nap.

What a pageful! Wow! And I could have written more, but I think you get the point. These are the people that watch over me. They keep me sane, comfortable and help me to find joy in my miserable migraine maze (hmm… that might be the start of a new poem 😉 ).

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

4 thoughts on “Migraine & Support – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 22

  1. You’re lucky to have so much support. You write so beautifully…I really hope that your blog reaches an infinite amount of people. I was so proud to include your blog in the brochure I handed out at my presentation and I’m thrilled to know that that brochure is still on display and is hopefully bringing you even more readers. I love the idea of a “migraine maze”…definitely sounds like an awesome poem-in-the-making! Fabulous work, as usual.

    • I am fortunate and I like to remind myself of that, cause chronic migraine can make you so bitter. So much so that you can forget the many blessings that you do have.

      And thanks again for including my blog. I consider being featured a privilege.

      I look forward to more of your posts :).

Leave a Reply

