I Dream A Dream – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 18

Prompt: “I Dreamed A Dream” – Susan Boyle with commentary video – see below

photo credit: Ninian Reid via photopin cc

photo credit: Ninian Reid via photopin cc

What a fabulous performance! I loved reliving this again with Susan Boyle, especially knowing that she’s achieved her dreams. She’s become as popular as Elaine Paige, had the privilege to perform a duet with her icon and she’s been singing throughout the UK and is scheduled to begin a US Concert Tour. Now that’s a dream come true!

Reflecting on Susan’s success taught me a lesson. None of my dreams will come true unless I make steps to achieve them. Had she not boldly walked on that stage, and ignored the obvious derision from the audience and the judges, she wouldn’t be where she is today.

My stage is my life and my dream is to have a normal existence. I want to be able to clean my house, prepare meals, enjoy fun times with family and friends, engage in volunteer work that benefits the lives of others … without any interruption from migraines. At this time, that dream is just about as absurd as Susan Boyle marching up to Buckingham Palace, before her debut on Britain’s Got Talent, and demanding to sing for the Queen.

There were steps Susan had to take that led to performing for the Queen, as there are steps I have to take to achieve wellness. Therefore, I don’t have to kill my dream, just create stepping stones to achieve it; and in the process, I’ll be leading a more productive life than I am now (sitting in my bed with my head propped up against my pillow).

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

 

2 thoughts on “I Dream A Dream – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 18

  1. That was my all-time favorite performance and still brings tears to my eyes. I’m happy to read your emotional progress and re-conviction thru the pages of this blog and the mham challenge. I sincerely hope and pray you find relief in this system.

    • Thanks! I’m really enjoying the challenge. I find it therapeutic and it’s motivating me to do what I need to – headache diary, proper diet etc.

      I sure hope i find relief in this system too. Even if it’s just better pain management. But if not, it’s momentary and light in comparison to what we’ll experience in the new system 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

