Perspective is Everything – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 16

Prompt: “Perspective is Everything” video

Migraines are ravaging beasts that take so much away from us. As a result, our perspective is essential to the quality of our life. If we focus only on what we lose, then we fail to recognise the blessings that we have.

As a result, when my perspective becomes distorted, I reflect on the following quote to balance my thinking: “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you deal with it.” – Anonymous

Below is a poem I wrote that exaggerates how distorted our thinking can become.

photo credit: codepo8 via photopin cc

photo credit: codepo8 via photopin cc

PERSPECTIVE

How did I get on pessimist lane,
Where the sky is too blue,
And the flowers won’t wane?

Wait how do you know my name?

Why am I here on this melancholy path,
Where the birds chirp too loud,
And I can’t feel a draft?

No, I don’t remember the time when we laughed!

How did I get on this ugly street,
Where people smile too much,
And the yards are too neat?

What do you mean we danced to a beat?

Why am I in this dreadful place,
Where the trees are too shady,
And the butterflies race?

Anglea Brady?
Yes I’m she.
But you’re too nice to be friends with me.

– Skylar

P.S. Today’s prompt, as stated above, is a video about perspective. I started to watch it but, 2 to 3 minutes in, the speaker used profanity so I stopped watching and decided not to share it on my blog. As a result, this post was based on where I felt the speaker was going.

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

 

Leave a Reply

