What I’ve Gained – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 15

Today’s prompt is: “Dreams” video Fleetwood Mac

I’ve never heard this song before. It was interesting listening. What I guess is the bridge of the song, talks about what one’s lost or what one had. I’ve decided to base my post off of that portion of the piece. As a result, I thought I’d share a poem I wrote, July 30, 2013, that mentions what I’ve lost, but more importantly highlights what I’ve gained as a chronic migraineur. Please see below:

photo credit: Biscarotte via photopin cc

photo credit: Biscarotte via photopin cc

I Remember

… when I wasn’t sick,

but took life for granted.

… when I was out 80% of the time,

but read less.

… when I wasn’t dependent on others,

but took family and friends for granted.

… when I could eat what I wanted,

but paid no attention to  health.

… when I sympathized with the sick,

but lacked empathy.

… when I worked,

but didn’t save.

… when I  married my husband,

but didn’t appreciate,

“In sickness and in health”,

or how much he really loves me.

… when I didn’t realize how much I could learn from a trial.

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

Leave a Reply

