Sleeping Rapunz – MHAM Blog Challenge: Day 5

photo credit: Lucia Whittaker via photopin cc

photo credit: Lucia Whittaker via photopin cc

I recently told a few friends that sleeping is no longer a luxury for me. My explanation, I feel like I’m sleeping my life away.

“Sleeping Beauty”
I’ve found that sleep is the only way I can escape my severe to excruciating, vessel popping migraine headaches (migraine is not just a headache). When I have a whammy (which is AT LEAST once per month – I have one now as I write 😦 ), I usually take some painkilling sleep aid. I find that if I can take it before the nausea, I’ll be asleep before the vomiting starts.

“Rapunzel”
When I’m not sleeping, I’m in my “dungeon” (my house), with all the blinds and curtains closed trying to avoid a whammy. My husband calls me his little vampire lol. I leave the house only when I have exceptionally good days and that’s rare. I do push myself to go to congregation meetings twice a week though (unless my pain is severe), as they help me to keep my joy.

As a result, I’m home 80% of the time and I’m usually alone; and that’s by choice because my house is never at the standard I’d like it to be to entertain others, with the exception of family and really close friends who understand that I’m a chronically ill housewife and not a lazy one.

So in answer to todays prompt: The fairy tale or character that best describes you. Tell us why. I’m Sleeping Rapunz.

– Skylar

For more information on this blog challenge (hosted by the American Headache & Migraine Association (AHMA)), and/or to participate see more at: MHAM Blog Challenge 2014 .

Leave a Reply

