A Life Sans Migraine – MHAM 2014 Blog Challenge: Day 1

photo credit: pedrosimoes7 via photopin cc

photo credit: pedrosimoes7 via photopin cc

If my dream of a pain-free & symptom-free life came true I would simply take control of my life. That is my dream.

To actually be able to complete a to-do list. To actually be able to live up to a promise that I’ve made to someone – and subsequently be guilt and shame free. To actually go out and enjoy myself without the fear of waking at 2/3/4 am in excruciating pain. To be out-and-about 80% of the time rather than the reverse. To be able to throw out every pain killer, ice pack and sleeping pill. To be the wife, daughter, aunt, friend … I dream to be.

So very simply put my dream is to: Have A Life.

– Skylar

For more information on today’s blog challenge click here: Dreaming of a Symptom-Free Life: MHAM 2014 Blog Challenge: Day 1. If you want to participate click here: 2014 Headache and Migraine Awareness Month Blog Challenge.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Life Sans Migraine – MHAM 2014 Blog Challenge: Day 1

  1. Pingback: June is Migraine Awareness Month | MigrainePuzzlePieces

  2. I love your post. It’s so raw and real. I can relate to the guilt and shame. Why do we do that to ourselves? We didn’t choose this life, so why do we blame ourselves for our own suffering? I love what you said about part of your dream being able to throw out every pain killer. In a society where we are so often treated and judged as drug-seekers, it’s important to let everyone (doctors and mainstream society alike) that we’d give anything not to NEED the painkillers in the first place. People might think taking narcotics is “fun” because they associate it with some kind of pleasurable high. I think I speak for most of migraine patients when I say we associate drugs with excruciating, unending, unbearable pain as well as dozens of less than desirable side effects. Thanks for putting yourself out there in such an authentic way. It’s an honor to raise awareness and advocacy with you.

Leave a Reply

