Todays Depression Reliever #2

photo credit: lululemon athletica via photopin cc

photo credit: lululemon athletica via photopin cc

Set Achievable Goals

Setting realistic, achievable, goals helps to boost ones self-esteem. It also gives you something to look forward to daily.

I recently started learning American Sign Language. This is a realistic, achievable, goal for me because I can learn at my own pace, in the comfort of my home.

My Motivation?

My best friend’s daughter is gradually going deaf. She presently benefits from the use of hearing aids. The desire to continue communicating effectively with her gives me incentive to continue. My best friend and I get together once a week and we practice what I’ve learned. It’s very upbuilding emotionally because it’s not just benefitting me, but adds to the joy of others (Acts 20:35).

My Teacher

I presently use an iBook by William G. Vicars, Ed.D. entitled, American Sign Language; ASL University Lessons 1 – 5. The app is free and the second book with Lessons 6 – 10 costs $3.99.  Dr. Bill also has an ASL website: www.lifeprint.com.

Some Suggestions

For those of you that may not be interested in learning sign language, here are a FEW ideas to get you started. If you have a chronic illness, and are therefore housebound most of the week, some of these may not be practical.

  • Learn another language
  • Learn to play a musical instrument
  • Take up a sport
  • Write a book
  • Take an art class (jewelry making; ceramics; glass blowing etc.)
  • Volunteer for a local charity
  • Read the Bible from cover to cover

Your Feedback

Have you found goals helpful in relieving and/or minimizing your depression? If so, which ones have you tried?

If you’ve never tried this route, which do you plan to try?

If you’ve tried this with no success, why do you think it didn’t help?

3 thoughts on “Todays Depression Reliever #2

  1. I suffer from several chronic illnesses and spend a lot of my time in bed. After a whole lot of practice, patience, and belief in myself, I have finally mastered the art of meditation. Mindfulness and Meditation are helping me greatly. I’m disabled. Some of the things I do each day to keep myself busy and to not be so depressed are reading, making collages, journaling, writing poems, blogging, visiting with friends, either they come to see me or I go to see them, talking to family and friends on the phone, going to movies every once in awhile, there’s all the doctor appointments each week, and of course meditation. I continue to look for new things to do since I’m no longer able to do most of the things I used to do. None of my illnesses are curable and, of course, there’s the depression, anxiety, PTSD, and ADHD to go along with all my physical illnesses. Through mindfulness and meditation I’m learning how to deal with and cope with everything. There will always be good (or should I say better?) days and bad. Through learning how to manage my pain and deal with it, my goal is to live a life of happiness and fulfillment to the best of my ability, whatever that may look like.

    • Thanks for sharing! I really appreciate your input. I like that you provided some more creative ideas, as well as interaction with others. When you’re depressed sometimes it’s hard to push your self to socialize but it’s so important.

      I’m sorry none of your illnesses are curable, but it’s good to hear that you are coping well. Your positivity is encouraging.

      Thanks again for sharing and checking out my blog.

      – Skylar

  2. I may try ASL…thanks for the idea. The “need is great” in many states here in the U.S. It is a wonderful goal. I’ve recommended to my son to read and follow your website. I admire the positive steps you take to work towards a measure of happiness

    • Thanks! My positivity comes from all those articles I mentioned, the meetings and I have a wonderful husband who helps me to focus on what I can do and find humour in life :).

      We love ASL. Bill on lifeprint.com also has an app for iPad and iPhones (I think). I believe it’s called ASL University. If you have either it’s worth the download. The first few lessons are free.

      Thanks again for reading. Take care,

      Skylar

Leave a Reply

