Migraine and Constant Urination

This I know is a sensitive topic, but I wanted to discuss it for those of you who may experience it and not know why (I am not a medical doctor if you are experiencing this symptom please consult your doctor – copyright and disclaimer information).

Migraine consists of four stages (see my post The Four Stages of Migraine): ProdromeAuraAttack and Postdrome. During these stages, our bodies are ravaged by various symptoms ranging from depression to excruciating headache pain to exhaustion.

One of them that really affects me is constant urination. On some occasions, I go to the bathroom six or more times in twenty minutes. When I was younger, my friends used to crack jokes about it (in their defense it didn’t bother me).

As a result, I’ve seen a number of doctors to rule out other issues like diabetes or an overactive bladder. But, as usual, all tests came back normal.

In fact, one doctor, perhaps in his desperation to label my problem, had the audacity to tell me it was nerves. He said it was because I was still a virgin and therefore nervous around the opposite sex lol. Of course you know what his suggested cure was, but I am happy to say that, despite his advice, I waited until I was married.

He was of course sadly wrong. I am, and have always been, quite comfortable around men more so than women and I have been married for 8 years and I still have this problem.

Anyhoo … it wasn’t until I was reading an article on migraine one day, that I came across my reason. Constant urination is one of the Prodromal symptoms that some migraineurs experience; which is why I suffered from it occasionally. I was relieved to find that out. I now know that when it happens, I need to take my medication and possibly cancel any plans over the next two days cause a whammy is about to hit.

I wanted to share this experience because I know there are others like me out there and I thought this might benefit them. Again I suggest that if you are experiencing this symptom go and see your doctor as it could be something more serious.

– Skylar

2 thoughts on “Migraine and Constant Urination

  1. You write so intelligently, honestly and encouragingly. I enjoy reading your blog. You have a gift… Do you consider letter writing as an avenue of your ministry? I’m sure you can touch hearts with your letters as you do in your blog.

    • Thank you! And all thanks goes to Jehovah for the ability.

      I will actually be doing some letter writing during the distribution of the new tract. As I can’t get out as much as I’d like, I’ve made arrangements to send letters along with the tract to remote areas where I live. I’ll let you know how it works out.

      – Skylar 🙂

Leave a Reply

